A Poet’s Layers

Many of you have no idea that I’ve been sick for the better part of four years. I don’t usually put anything too personal “out there.” But with my poetry morphing into a very real and accurate betrayal of the life around me, I’m thinking it’s best to be upfront about it. I have several conditions and am bedridden often. I’m anti-pity so have hid this for a long time. I want people to accept and enjoy my work without knowing about my failing health, just in case their judgement became diluted.

As I sat here tonight, I pondered several things. One being, if I don’t accept I am ill and be upfront about it, then how can I expect other people to accept it? So here I am trying to balance it all…and just roll with it. Here is a piece I wrote that was really at the core of my ‘bad days’…I won’t submit it for publication because to me, it’s just a rant or as we Jews call it, a form of “kvetching.” Not my fondest type of writing…but it is cathartic and sometimes we do need to vent.

The Weather Died

Where I am, there is no weather

no longer can I feel the sun on my skin

the wind in my hair

Where I am, there is no other

no substitute for seasons or

purpose like the beginning to a day

or an end to a thought.

I’m forever in the middle

wedged like the violet I

forced into the spine

of a scrapbook.

Glass

plaster

walls

hardened flesh

a house

Where I am, there is no weather

no longer can I feel anything but ache.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by jthunt. Bookmark the permalink.

About jthunt

After accepted into a prestigious creative writing program at the University of Delaware, Julie studied under the very talented poet and screenplay writer, Dr. Jeanne Walker. Walker, along with other UD professors, recognized Julie's raw talent and helped her learn the important elements of poetry writing. In 2001, upon graduation, Julie focused on expanding her talent in the technical writing field. She pursued positions in Pharma, Medical and Ad/Marketing fields thus furthering her experience in editing, proofreading and technical writing. Later, Julie chose to pursue freelance positions in the medical field, writing journal articles, pieces for pharma mags, and composing CME material. Alongside her freelance career, Julie makes her poetry writing a top priority. She has been featured in publications such as Poetry Speaks, Ascent Aspirations, Poetry Repairs, Caesura, New York Quarterly, and the Instigatorzine. Her newest venture, a full collection of her original work, called "Ever Changing" is due out by Winter 2011.

One thought on “A Poet’s Layers

  1. I do not think this is kvetching 🙂 I would not have seen that if you had not shared. I know what you mean about sharing too much, if I do, I remove the post almost the same day. Sorry to hear you suffer. I guess we have something in common, I deal with my daughters death everyday, and it is like an illness, clouds even the sun cannot break through. Also asthma and allergies kind of suck. Peace to you.

Leave a Reply

